Armacost Library: GERMAN: Academic Inquiry

The Research Process: A Map

Research is not a linear process. Research requires repetition of the same processes--utilizing background information, developing a research question, collecting evidence--in order to eventually define and develop a research question that is significant and manageable.

(Process chart courtesy of A.Carr, 2011)

Types of Information Sources and the Cycle of Information

Different types of sources exist. Your research questions will affect the types of sources you'll use. As you watch this video by University of Nevada Las Vegas, Lied Library, consider why, how, and when you'd use these sources in your research:

websites, social media
newspapers
magazine articles
journal articles
government documents
encyclopedias
books

From Topic to Research Questions

Learn more about narrowing a topic and developing a research question.

Does the information source fit my assignment?

Information Need	Sources to Consult	Search Tools & Help
Overview of Topic	Encyclopedias Handbooks	Ask a librarian Search Primo (Limit by Resource Type: Reference Entry)
Definitions	Dictionaries Handbooks	Ask a librarian Search Primo (Limit by Resource Type: Reference Entry)
Primary Sources (first hand or contemporary accounts)	Books Digital archives Magazines & newspapers Videos	Ask a librarian Search Primo Search online Search disciplinary databases
Secondary Sources (comprehensive and/or detailed analyses)	Journal articles Books Some magazines & newspapers	Ask a librarian Search Primo Search disciplinary databases
Facts	Dictionaries Almanacs Statistical Handbooks	Ask a librarian Search Primo
Current Events, Popular Culture	Newspapers Magazines Video	Ask a librarian Search Primo Search online Search disciplinary databases
Historical Information	Books Digital archives Magazines & newspapers Film	Ask a librarian Search Primo Search online Search disciplinary databases
Evaluative Sources	Book reviews Film/video reviews	Ask a librarian Search Primo Use How Do I? search