Armacost Library: SOAN 230: Bodies and Society (Rocque): Browse in the Library

Background Information - Reference

The Routledge Handbook of Multimodal Analysis by Carey Jewitt Multimodality is an innovative approach to representation, communication and interaction which looks beyond language to investigate the multitude of ways we communicate: through images, sound and music to gestures, body posture and the use of space. The Routledge Handbook of Multimodal Analysis, Second Edition provides a comprehensive 'research tool kit' for multimodal analysis, with thirty-four chapters written by leading figures in the field on a wide range of theoretical and methodological issues. This new edition includes twelve new chapters on theoretical and mathodological developments, and multimodal research on digitally mediated texts and interaction. The Handbook includes chapters on key themes within multimodality such as technology, culture, notions of identity, social justice and power, and macro issues such as literacy policy. Taking a broad look at multimodality, the contributors engage with how a variety of other theoretical approaches have looked at multimodal communication and representation, including visual studies, anthropology, conversation analysis, socio-cultural theory, sociolinguistics, new literacy studies, multimodal corpora studies, critical discourse, semiotics and eye-tracking. Detailed multimodal analysis case studies are also included, along with an extensive updated glossary of key terms, to support those new to multimodality and to allow those already engaged in multimodal research to explore the fundamentals further. The Routledge Handbook of Multimodal Analysis is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as researchers involved in the study of multimodal communication.
Call Number: P99.4.M6 R68 2014 (General Collection)
Publication Date: 2013
Writing for Emerging Sociologists by Angelique Harris; Alia R. Tyner-Mullings A writing guide designed for upper-level sociology undergraduate students and graduate students, this instructional text introduces students to the variety of writing projects that sociologists undertake, while also providing instruction on grammar and composition. It will provide students with practical knowledge concerning topics such as: peer reviewed journal manuscripts, book reviews, grant proposals, and field notes. What makes this book unique is that it offers useful advice and instruction for sociology college students whether they plan on entering the academy or the private, non-profit, or government sectors. Writing for Emerging Sociologists uses writing as a tool to help students learn not only about sociology as a field of study, but also the practice of sociology.
Call Number: HM569 .H37 2013 (General Collection)
ISBN: 9781412991797
Publication Date: 2013

General Books

These books are focused on the sociology of the body and serve as general or interdisciplinary texts. They can be a good starting point in your research before diving into a more specific topic.

Rebellious Bodies: Stardom, Citizenship, and the New Body Politics by Russell Meeuf
Call Number: HM636 .M44 2017
ISBN: 9781477311813
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
The Body in Question: a Socio-cultural Approach by Alan Petersen
Call Number: HM636 .P47 2007
ISBN: 9780415321617
Publication Date: 2007-04-25
Sociology of the Body by Claudia Malacrida; Jacqueline Low
Call Number: HM636 .S63 2008
ISBN: 9780195425482
Publication Date: 2008-06-09

In the Library: Browsing Books in Your Subject Area

Library of Congress call numbers group books by topic. The following are some you might find useful.

E 75 - E 99 Native Americans.
E 184 - E 185: American ethnic groups.
GN: Anthropology
HA: Social science statistics.
HM: Sociology (general and theoretical). Social psychology.
HM 636: Sociology -- Culture -- Human body
HN: Social history. Social problems. Social reform.
HQ: The family. Marriage. Women. Feminism.
HT: Communities. Classes. Races. Slavery.
HV: Social and public welfare. Substance abuse. Criminology.
K: Legal issues
LC: Education

Books

The books in this section are focused on the body through specific lenses of thought. Topics include race, gender, and disability among others.

Embodied Resistance: Challenging the Norms, Breaking the Rules by Chris Bobel (Editor); Samantha Kwan (Editor)
Call Number: HM636 .E423 2011
ISBN: 9780826517869
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
Masculinity in the Modern West: Gender, Civilization, and the Body by Christopher E. Forth
Call Number: HM636 .F67 2008
ISBN: 9781403912404
Publication Date: 2008-09-16
Disability Rhetoric by Jay Timothy Dolmage
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780815633242
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
The Body in Asia by Bryan S. Turner; Yangwen Zheng
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9786612628160
Publication Date: 2009
Queer Embodiment by Hilary Malatino
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1496213718
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Revolting Bodies?: The Struggle to Redefine Fat Identity by Kathleen LeBesco
Call Number: RC628 .L36 2004/Online
ISBN: 1558494286
Publication Date: 2004-01-01