Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

CDIS 100: Intro. to Communication Sciences & Disorders: Evaluating: Types of Sources

Your assignment -- due 1/30 at the start of class

Developing your skills as an academic researcher requires that you learn how to identify types of information sources.

(1) Go over the information presented here to strengthen your understanding of source types and how scholarly, peer-reviewed sources differ from popular sources like websites written for public consumption and newspapers. 

 

(2) Select an article to evaluate:

 

(3) Work independently to complete the worksheet below. Turn in your completed assignment at the start of class and prepare for a class discussion on your answers. 

 

 

 

Distinguishing Between Source Types Can Help You:

  • seek sources appropriate to your objectives -- Are you introducing yourself to a topic or looking for a case study of a toddler?
  • strategize where and how to find them -- Different strategies are needed to find a single research study and a systematic review of multiple research studies.
  • determine how to use them -- Both client coping strategies and a study on treatment protocols are valuable sources of information to be used in distinct ways.

Does the information source fit my assignment?

Information Need Sources to Consult Search Tools & Help
Topic overviews, definitions
  • Encyclopedias
  • Handbooks
  • Dictionaries
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search Primo (Resource Type: Reference Entries)
Primary Sources (first hand or contemporary accounts)
  • Books
  • Digital archives
  • Magazines & newspapers
  • Videos
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search Primo
  • Search online
  • Search disciplinary databases
Secondary Sources (comprehensive and/or detailed analyses)
  • Journal articles
  • Books
  • Some magazines & newspapers
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search Primo
  • Search disciplinary databases
Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Video
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search Primo
  • Search online
  • Search disciplinary databases
Historical Information
  • Books
  • Digital archives
  • Magazines & newspapers
  • Film
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search Primo
  • Search online
  • Search disciplinary databases

 

Evaluating Scholarliness