Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

POLITICAL SCIENCE: Scholarly Materials in the Open

Temporarily Freely Available Books & Journals

During this period of nation-wide library closures some scholarly presses and archives have made books and scholarly journals freely available, temporarily. 

  • Public Books Database: Doctoral students, Salvador I Ayala Camarillo & Jess Engebretson, are regularly updating a list of academic presses making content freely accessible online. 

  • National Emergency Library: Through June 30, 2020, the Internet Archive is making its digitized collection of books available for unlimited checkouts. 

Open Access Ebook Collections

  • Cornell Open: Cornell University Press Open eBooks collection. Set up an account in order to download ebooks. 

  • HathiTrust Digital Library: A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

  • Lever Press: As a press aligned with the ethos and mission of liberal arts colleges, we seek out, identify, evaluate, and advocate for transformative scholarship that spurs creative dialogue within and between traditional fields of inquiry, emphasizes disciplinary innovation, draws upon new models of collaborative research, and strives to reach the broadest audience possible.

  • Project Gutenberg: Over 61,000 digitized books available for download. Most books are in the public domain, no longer protected by U.S. copyright law. 

  • Open Library: A broad range of digitized books available to checkout from the Internet Archive. 

  • Faculty Guide to Open Educational Resources (OER): Armacost Library's guide to adopting open textbooks and other open course materials. 

Freely Available Streaming Media

Search Strategies for Online Content in Primo

Searching in Primo, limit "Show only" to "Available online" in the left-hand column for refining results

undefined

After limiting to "Available online," your results should all be electronically available. You will be prompted to login with your myRedlands credentials. 

undefined

Set Google to Recognize Armacost Library Subscribed Content

Connect your Google Scholar searches to Armacost Library's subscriptions. 

undefined

 

undefined

 

undefined