BIOL 260: Molecular Biology of Disease: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

"This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader."

Hundreds of concise yet authoritative, well-illustrated articles explore the most important fields of science, in a format accessible and interesting to non-specialists. Based on content from the McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, the most widely used and respected science reference of its kind in print.

Provides the most complete and authoritative coverage of genetics ever published. Diverse information from the world's top geneticists is compiled into a single, comprehensive source, containing a clear presentation of cutting-edge knowledge. Easy-to-use and well-organized, this is an invaluable reference source for everyone from the academic researcher to the educated layperson.

"Over 51,000 comprehensive, authoritative, high-quality definitions - including definitions for major diseases, disorders, drugs, and procedures - offer the most accurate, complete information available in all areas of nursing, medicine, and health-related professions. Approximately 2,400 color photographs and line drawings illustrate all subject areas to help you understand concepts."

Covers classic and new terminology of this rapidly growing field, including definitions of strictly genetic words along with a variety of non-genetic terms often encountered in the literature of genetics. Beyond definitions, important ancillary encyclopedic information is provided, such as illustrations; new appendices covering the genomic sizes and gene numbers of about 30 organisms ranging from the smallest known virus to humans; an up-to-date listing of internet addresses for easy access to genetic databanks; and a list of developments, inventions and advances in genetics, cytology, and evolutionary science from the past 400 years.

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology. Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas. Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today. Features extensive cross-references. Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features.

This dictionary, which comprehensively surveys the expanding language of these fields as well as terms from other subject areas that appear in the biochemical literature (such as Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology), is an invaluable reference for biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information outside their own fields, and for those wishing to revisit fundamental principles. Defines biochemical symbols and abbreviations, provides details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, provides illustrations of chemical structures, and points out pitfalls where terms are often confused.

Clear and concise entries accessible to biology students in high school or college, this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, including biographical entries on key scientists; highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure; and appendices covering useful web sites, mass extinctions, SI units, model organisms and their genomes, and Nobel prizewinners. A companion website offers additional, regularly updated information.