Armacost Library: RELIGIOUS STUDIES: Browse in the Library

Background Information - Reference

Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Peter W. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: Available online.
ISBN: 1608712575
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Encyclopedia of Religion by Lindsay Jones
Call Number: BL31 .E46 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of Hinduism by Constance Jones; James Daniel Ryan; J. Gordon Melton (Editor)
Call Number: BL1105 .J56 2007 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780816054589
Publication Date: 2006-12-30
Religion and Popular Culture in America, Third Edition by Bruce David Forbes (Editor); Jeffrey H. Mahan (Editor)
Call Number: BL2525 .R4613 2017 and Online
ISBN: 0520965221
Publication Date: 2017-03-01
Encyclopedia of Judaism by Sara E. Karesh; Mitchell M. Hurvitz
Call Number: BM50.K37 2006 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780816054572
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. Martin
Call Number: BP40 .E525 2004 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0028656032
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Edward A. Irons
Call Number: BQ128 .I76 2008 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780816054596
Publication Date: 2008-03-30

Library of Congress call numbers group books by subject. The following letters represent major religious studies categories:

BL: Religions. Mythology. Rationalism

BM: Judaism

BP: Islam. Bahá'ísm. Theosophy, etc.

BQ: Buddhism

BR: Christianity

BS: The Bible

BT: Doctrinal Theology

BV: Practical Theology

BX: Christian Denominations