Armacost Library: NATIVE AMERICAN STUDIES: Open Web Resources

American Indian Law Resources

American Indiana Center, Inc.
Oldest existing Indian-managed and Indian-operated legal and public policy organization in the country serving to strengthen, promote, and honor self-sustaining American Indian and Alaska Native communities through education, training, and leadership.
Cornell University - Legal Information Institute - Supreme Court Collection
LII is a major site for legal research. Major cases are grouped by topic: select Indians.
Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans
U.S. federal government site brings together information available from the federal government as well as links to other sources of information.
Index of Treaties
Compiled by G. William Rice, Associate Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Native American Law Center at the University of Tulsa.
National Indian Law Library
NILL serves the public by developing and making accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and by providing direct research assistance and delivery of information.
Native American Constitution & Law Digitization Project
The Project was created as a cooperative effort between the University of Oklahoma College of Law Library and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), to provide access to the tribal constitutions, codes, and other legal documents.
Northwest Intertribal Court System (NICS)
Full text of Appellate Opinions freely available.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse
One way for tribal nations to exercise their sovereignty is to establish their laws and codes which govern their respective communities. This page provides links to tribes that list their own codes online.

Native American & Indigenous Health Resources

National Indian Health Board
NIHB represents Tribal governments—both those that operate their own health care delivery systems through contracting and compacting, and those receiving health care directly from the Indian Health Service (IHS).
Native Health Database
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Office of Minority Health - American Indian/Alaska Native
Central source for information about the health and well-being of Native Americans and Alaska Natives.
Urban Indian Health Institute
UIHI conducts research and evaluation, collects and analyzes data, and provides disease surveillance to strengthen the health of American Indian and Alaska Native communities.

California Resources

Advocates for Indigenous California Language Survival
Helping Native communities create new speakers.
Alliance for California Traditional Arts
ACTA is a statewide and national leader dedicated to supporting cultural practitioners and their communities.
California Indian Legal Services
CILS supports the protection of sovereignty, cultural resources, anti-discrimination in schools, and provides community education and training.
Carrying Our Ancestors Home
This site’s visual data, travelling stories, news articles and other publications, and our own original videos about the process and impact of repatriation work enable users to understand the systems of dispossession of body, land, and culturally meaningful materials that have occurred throughout time.
News from Native California
A quarterly magazine devoted to the vibrant cultures, arts, languages, histories, social justice movements, and stories of California’s diverse Indian peoples.
Red Women Rising
The Red Women Rising Project is dedicated to uplifting the voices of Urban Indian survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault through increasing awareness around Urban Indian women’s domestic violence issues and enhancing survivors' access to domestic violence services. This project also aims to enhance provider capacity to care for Native American survivors of abuse by providing access to culturally-responsive resources and training opportunities.

Search Strategies for Online Content in Primo

Searching in Primo, limit "Show only" to "Available online" in the left-hand column for refining results

After limiting to "Available online," your results should all be electronically available. You will be prompted to login with your myRedlands credentials.

Set Google to Recognize Armacost Library Subscribed Content

Connect your Google Scholar searches to Armacost Library's subscriptions.

Open Access Ebook Collections (General)

Cornell Open: Cornell University Press Open eBooks collection. Set up an account in order to download ebooks.

HathiTrust Digital Library: A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Lever Press: As a press aligned with the ethos and mission of liberal arts colleges, we seek out, identify, evaluate, and advocate for transformative scholarship that spurs creative dialogue within and between traditional fields of inquiry, emphasizes disciplinary innovation, draws upon new models of collaborative research, and strives to reach the broadest audience possible.

Project Gutenberg: Over 61,000 digitized books available for download. Most books are in the public domain, no longer protected by U.S. copyright law.

Open Library: A broad range of digitized books available to checkout from the Internet Archive.

Faculty Guide to Open Educational Resources (OER): Armacost Library's guide to adopting open textbooks and other open course materials.

Native American Literature

American Indians in Children's Literature
Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books.
Native American Authors
Website provides information on Native North American authors with bibliographies of their published works, biographical information, and links to online resources including interviews, online texts and tribal websites. Currently the website primarily contains information on contemporary Native American authors, although some historical authors are represented.