Armacost Library: FS 14: Genetics of Dogs: Recommended Databases

Anatomy of a scholarly article

*Adapted from Oregon State University Libraries, "What is a scholary article?" and sourced from North Carolina State University Library.

Online Resources

These online resources should be useful in finding sources to use in your assignment.

American Kennel Club
The official website of the American Kennel Club. Contains information on the standards of each breed and links to individual breed clubs.
The Merck Veterinary Manual
From Merck: "For over 50 years, The Merck Veterinary Manual has been a trusted source of animal health information for students and practicing veterinarians. It contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. More than 1100 full-color images, audio examples, videos, and links to related information enhance the expansive coverage of companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals."

Research Databases

Academic databases provide access to articles from newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, and more. They are an invaluable part of conducting college-level research.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of every area of the life sciences, from Botany to Zoology.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Search the National Library of Medicine's index to life science research published since 1950. Use the default Thomson Web of Science interface or access Medline as part of a PubMed.gov search.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books. Links to full-text are sometimes provided.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

FS 14: Genetics of Dogs: Recommended Databases

Anatomy of a scholarly article

Online Resources

Research Databases

Why databases? Why scholarly articles?