ENGL 362: Find Images, Media, etc.

Authoritative texts of Mark Twain's Letters and Writings. Produced by the Mark Twain Papers and Project of The Bancroft Library in collaboration with the University of California Press

This interpretive archive focuses on how Mark Twain and his works were created and defined, marketed and performed, reviewed and appreciated. The goal is to allow readers, scholars, students and teachers to see what Mark Twain and His Times said about each other, in a way that can speak to us today. Contained here are dozens of texts and manuscripts, scores of contemporary reviews and articles, hundreds of images, and many different kinds of interactive exhibits.

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

"[A] digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." From the University of North Carolina

Search this vast collection of images, films, manuscripts, maps, audio recordings, & more, which document American history and experience. Search by date to retrieve primary sources for a particular century.

Over 750,000 items digitized from New York Public Library’s collections. Prints, photographs, maps, video, etc.

Search collections from libraries, museums, and universities based in Chicago. Over 100,000 digitized images available covering the city's architecture, people, politics, history, culture and more. Make sure to filter by "Digital Images" to access material!

North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing organization housed at UNC’s Wilson Special Collections Library. Search collections from libraries, museums and historical societies across the state of North Carolina.

Sourced from libraries and archives around the U.S., the DPLA collection houses free online access to a deep collection of primary source material relating to the history of what would become the United States.

Digitized newspapers from the United States, 1789-1963. Maintained by Library of Congress.

Access The Los Angeles Times from 1881-1994.

Access The New York Times from 1851-2014.

Essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes statutes passed by every colony and state, as well as federal statutes, and all related state and federal cases.