/**/ Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

WGS 333: Pregnancy & Power-Reproductive Politics: Academic Inquiry

Does the information source fit my assignment?

Information Need Sources to Consult Search Tools & Help
Overview of Topic
  • Encyclopedias
  • Handbooks
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
Definitions
  • Dictionaries
  • Handbooks
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
Primary Sources (first hand or contemporary accounts)
  • Books
  • Digital archives
  • Magazines & newspapers
  • Videos
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
  • Search online
  • Search article databases
Secondary Sources (comprehensive and/or detailed analyses)
  • Journal articles
  • Books
  • Some magazines & newspapers
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
  • Search article databases
Facts
  • Dictionaries
  • Almanacs
  • Statistical Handbooks
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
Current Events, Popular Culture
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Video
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
  • Search online
  • Search article databases
Historical Information
  • Books
  • Digital archives
  • Magazines & newspapers
  • Film
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search the library catalog
  • Search online
  • Search article databases
Evaluative Sources
  • Book reviews
  • Film/video reviews
  • Ask a librarian
  • Search article databases

 

From Topic to Research Questions

                                                                      

Learn more about narrowing a topic and developing a research question.

Research Process

  • Research doesn't happen in a straight line from start (assignment prompt) to finish (polished paper/presentation).
  • Research includes finding background information to help you shape your ideas.
  • Research incorporates analyses from journalists and scholars, whose ideas help you reframe and revise your research questions.
  • Research includes making evaluative decisions about which and whose perspectives to incorporate into your own scholarship.


 

What is "The Literature"?