Disciplinary Databases - Find Articles - BIOLOGY - Armacost Library at University of Redlands

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Biological Abstracts
Journal coverage of every area of the life sciences, from Botany to Zoology.
Medline
Search the National Library of Medicine's index to life science research published since 1950. Use the default Thomson Web of Science interface or access Medline as part of a PubMed.gov search.
PubMed
Provides citations to biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books. Links to full-text are sometimes provided.

USDA National Agricultural Library
Simple, one-stop access to more than 7 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines
GreenFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Cochrane Library
Searches the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs). Provides full-text access to evidence-based medical research.
SciFinder-n
Industry-leading database of organic and inorganic substances, reactions, suppliers, and references to research published in chemistry and biomedical science disciplines. Access restricted to University of Redlands students and faculty. You must have a Scifinder-n username and password to access this database. Create your username and password using this link.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Web Editions
Scholarly journal literature in the chemical sciences. Not all journals on this external site provide full text subscription access.

Google Scholar
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

The Merck Manual
From Merck: "For over a century, healthcare professionals and medical students alike have turned to the Merck Manual for trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy. Updated monthly to keep current with the changes in medical care, the Merck Manual Online is the best, first place to go for clinical decision support."
The Merck Veterinary Manual
From Merck: "For over 50 years, The Merck Veterinary Manual has been a trusted source of animal health information for students and practicing veterinarians. It contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. More than 1100 full-color images, audio examples, videos, and links to related information enhance the expansive coverage of companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals."

JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.

ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES
by Adam Massimiano Last Updated Apr 2, 2025 79 views this year

CHEMISTRY
by Adam Massimiano Last Updated Apr 2, 2025 29 views this year
HUMAN-ANIMAL STUDIES
by Adam Massimiano Last Updated Apr 2, 2025 72 views this year