Based on the online Encyclopaedia of Mathematics, which was written as a graduate-level math resource and published by Kluwer Academic Publishers. It has since developed into an wiki for the online math community.
Reference database containing encyclopedia articles, research summaries, images, video and biographies pertaining to key science disciplines including biology, chemistry, physics and environmental studies.
Videos on pre-algebra, geometry, trigonometry, calculus, probability, statistics, and linear algebra.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by B. S. Everitt; Anders SkrondalIf you work with data and need easy access to clear, reliable definitions and explanations of modern statistical and statistics-related concepts, then look no further than this dictionary. Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Entries are provided for standard and specialized statistical software. In addition, short biographies of over 100 important statisticians are given. Definitions provide enough mathematical detail to clarify concepts and give standard formula when these are helpful. The majority of definitions then give a reference to a book or article where the user can seek further or more specialized information, and many are accompanied by graphical material to aid understanding.
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
A Dictionary of Statistics by Graham Upton; Ian CookThe most up-to-date dictionary of its kind, this authoritative reference tool covers a broad range of statistical terms in a clear and jargon-free style. Written by authorities in the field, this dictionary will provide concise definitions of all the terms likely to be encountered by students of statistics, and anyone who comes into contact with statistical terms will find this dictionary an indispensable source of reference. The entries are also generously illustrated with useful figures and diagrams. Appendices feature a historical calendar of important statistical events, and tables of statistical and mathematical notation.
The HarperCollins Dictionary of Statistics by Roger PorkessStatistics has seen a marked increase in its teaching and application in a variety of fields in recent years, and a thorough understanding of statistics is becoming more and more important. The dictionary covers a comprehensive range of concepts and terms, including how statistical measures are calculated and their tests applied.
Publication Date: 1991-08-28
Dictionary of Mathematical Games, Puzzles, and Amusements by Harry E. EissMathematical play has challenged and stimulated human ingenuity throughout recorded history. It has ranged from the common sorts of brain teasers such as mazes, arithmetic story problems, and simple geometric puzzles to sophisticated explorations of questions that still concern modern mathematical theorists. This new dictionary provides a tantalizing variety of paradoxes, games, problems, and puzzles that will appeal to mathematics enthusiasts at every level of proficiency. Eiss introduces his subject with an overview of the history of recreational mathematics and its relation to some theoretical questions that have occupied mathematicians for centuries. Dictionary entries include problems posed by particular thinkers as well as traditional puzzlers that have come down to us anonymously. Information on the origins and history of many of the activities is supplied, and thorough cross-referencing enables the reader to locate all puzzles, games, and amusements of a similar type. The bibliography suggest sources of further information.