Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

ENGL 119: World Literature: Find Articles

This library research guide accompanies Dr. Skjonsby's ENGL 119 course.

Find Information

 

What is a database?

A database from the library is usually a collection of information describing publications such as journal articles, books, theses or newspapers.

You can search by keyword or author or title, and when you get the results, which show articles or books on your topic , there will usually be a link [Search for Full-Text] to our library contents so that you can check if the item is on the shelves, or available electronically. In many cases the full text of the article will be directly available. If not, the full-text of an article or a book can be attained through interlibrary loan.  Ask us about this.

Most of our databases include materials not freely available on the internet.

Remember: it is not possible to identify individual articles by searching our library catalog - you need databases for this.

Recommended Databases

Start your search for articles using the search box on the left side of this page! The "Articles, Books, & More" tab is a good place to start because it searches across most of our databases. Next, try searching individually in one of these databases to compare your search results. 

Request Articles

What is Literary Criticism?

"Criticism still embraces exegesis, interpretation, and evaluation, as it has traditionally done, but today it often encroaches upon the territory of " theory, " whether we characterize theory as discussion and debates about basic definitions, as the search for necessary and sufficient foundations for evaluating critical practice, or as the self-reflexive process of making explicit underlying social, historical, or ideological interests and presuppositions. The semantic boundaries between " theory " and " criticism " blur. We see the terms often used interchangeably. Frequently, however, they occur together to signal at once their overlapping as well as their divergent possible meanings..."

"Preface." The John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism, 2012, http://0-litguide.press.jhu.edu.books.redlands.edu/preface.html. Accessed 25 Oct. 2016.