WOMEN'S, GENDER & SEXUALITY STUDIES: Browse in the Library

Library of Congress call numbers group books by topic. The HQ call number range is the primary location for Women's & Gender Studies. However, because WGST is interdisciplinary, you may find other call number ranges (subject areas) useful.

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and yearbooks provide basic information on almost any subject quickly.

Dictionary: Provides the meaning of words in a language or field of knowledge.

Encyclopedia: A single or multi-volume reference work that provides general background articles on either a wide range of topics or a more specialized discipline.

Handbook: A compact reference book giving the essential information in a given field of study.

Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT and Other Symbols for More Effective Searching

theat* AND (classical OR antiquity)=Using the AND operater narrows your search to only results that mention both keywords.  Use the OR operator to search for variants or synonyms of the same keyword.  The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol that is used to catch variant endings of a word (individuality, individualism, as well as individual).

“trojan women” AND motherhood=Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase.

Below is a small selection of books from within the Armacost Library's collection that may be relevant for research in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. As an interdisciplinary subject, there are many more resources available in the collection. We highly recommend searching the catalog for materials more closely related to your research interests.