Armacost Library: MEDIA AND COMMUNICATION: Disciplinary Databases & Journals

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Film Reviews

LexisNexis Academic: see Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.

Movie Review Query Engine
A searchable index of freely available film and DVD reviews.

Core Film Journals

Cinema Journal
more...less...
Cinema Journal is sponsored by the Society for Cinema and Media Studies and represents recent scholarship by SCMS members. The Society for Cinema and Media Studies, founded in 1959, is the largest professional organization of moving image media scholars.
Film Comment
more...less...
Since 1962, Film Comment has featured in-depth reviews and critical analysis of mainstream, art-house and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world.
Film Quarterly
more...less...
Film Quarterly, published since 1958, provides readers with insightful analyses of film, the film industry, and international cinemas. More than a glimpse behind the scenes, Film Quarterly offers serious film lovers in-depth articles, reviews, and interviews that examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture and society.
Screen
more...less...
Screen is the leading international journal of academic film and television studies.
Velvet Light Trap
more...less...
The Velvet Light Trap is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media. While VLT maintains its traditional commitment to the study of American film, it also expands its scope to television and other media, to adjacent institutions, and to other nations' media.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
ada: A Journal of Gender, New Media, & Technology
Journal of Popular Culture

Recommended Databases & Online Resources

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from various art publications throughout the world.
ArtStor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary image library containing over 1.6 million images from the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 500 scholarly journals covering research into communication and popular media.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.

Related Databases & Online Resources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for articles on historical topics of the United States and Canada.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to journals in the humanities.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Other Online Resources

Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Browse a database of over 600,000 open access articles covering all subject areas, maintained at institutional repositories around the world.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

The British Library: Public Domain Images
Images taken from the pages of 17th, 18th and 19th century books available for use, remix, and repurpose.
Calisphere
Calispere is a gateway to digital collections containing photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Maintained by the California Digital Library.
epguides.com
This site contains episode lists for over 7100 TV shows. Each list displays only titles and airdates, but in most cases the episode title is a link to the page for that episode at TVRage.com (or sometimes TV.com), where there is more information such as guest stars and a plot summary.
Internet Movie Database (IMDb) (Advanced Search)
MDb started in 1990 as a hobby project by an international group of movie and TV fans. Offers a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online
400,000 images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee. The number of available images will increase as new digital files are added on a regular basis.
Public Domain Image Archive
The Public Domain Image Archive (PDIA) — brought to you by The Public Domain Review (PDR) — is a curated collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright historical images, free for all to explore and reuse. Our aim is to offer a platform that will serve both as a practical resource and a place to simply wander — an ever-growing portal to discover more than 2000 years of visual culture.
The Public Domain Project
Whether you’re a filmmaker, musician, designer, student, or just a history buff, the Pond5 Public Domain Project is making copyright-free media available for you.

Related Subject Guides

ART
by Emily Croft Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 0 views this year
WOMEN'S, GENDER & SEXUALITY STUDIES
by Adam Massimiano Last Updated Sep 18, 2024 4 views this year

Why databases? Why scholarly articles?

Get Research Help Now!

Make an appointment

Click to Call Call (909) 748-8022

Get quick answers with How Do I... ?

Email Email library@redlands.edu