Armacost Library: HEALTH, MEDICINE, & SOCIETY: Find Articles via Databases

Librarian

Paige Mann

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library #214

909.748.8088

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, First-Year Seminars, Geographic Information Systems, Health, Medicine & Society, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Physics

Find Journal Articles Online

If you already have a citation, please use Armacost Library's Article Databases & Online Resources to see if we have the article online, in print, or in microfilm.

Interlibrary loan (ILL)

If the item you are looking for is not available here at Armacost Library, you may be able to request it from another library.

Core Databases for Research in Health, Medicine, & Society Studies

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of every area of the life sciences, from Botany to Zoology.

DOAJ
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Medline
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.

Other Useful Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text journals from the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
International index and abstracts of periodicals and book chapters in psychology and related fields, with links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

Other Online Resources

The Merck Veterinary Manual
From Merck: "For over 50 years, The Merck Veterinary Manual has been a trusted source of animal health information for students and practicing veterinarians. It contains authoritative guidelines for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of animal disorders and diseases. More than 1100 full-color images, audio examples, videos, and links to related information enhance the expansive coverage of companion, production, exotic, and laboratory animals."

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Industry-leading database of organic and inorganic substances, reactions, suppliers, and references to research published in chemistry and biomedical science disciplines. Access restricted to University of Redlands students and faculty. You must have a Scifinder-n username and password to access this database. Create your username and password using this link.

Related Subject Guides

BIOLOGY
by Paige Mann Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 548 views this year
ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES
by Paige Mann Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 273 views this year
PHILOSOPHY
by Elizabeth Flater Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 129 views this year
PSYCHOLOGY
by Emily Croft Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 193 views this year
SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY
by Adam Massimiano Last Updated Sep 5, 2024 208 views this year