Armacost Library: SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY: Disciplinary Databases

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Annual Review of Anthropology
Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Annual Review of Sociology
Covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world. Full text through 2008 available in JSTOR subscription.

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Indexes the leading sources in anthropology. Some full text is provided.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sociology This link opens in a new window
Subject experts guide students and faculty to the best research in Sociology published in books, articles, conference papers, and more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to international sociology research published as books, articles, dissertations and reviews from 1952 to the present.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly articles and dissertations related to sociology and social work, published from 1985 to present.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Database provides visual analysis of U.S. demographics ranging back to 1940.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Index of sources from 1970 to present relating to the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the GLBTQ communities and research on gender roles.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals and e-books. Not all search results are for subscribed journals. Search Articles, Books & More to find full text.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

United States Census Data
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
United States Census Data: Current Population Survey
The CPS is used to collect data for a variety of other studies that keep the nation informed of the economic and social well-being of its people.
Current Population Survey @ Bureau of Labor Statistics
CPS is a monthly survey of households conducted by the Bureau of Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. It provides a comprehensive body of data on the labor force, employment, unemployment, persons not in the labor force, hours of work, earnings, and other demographic and labor force characteristics.