Armacost Library: FS 28: Success in Chemistry: Disciplinary Databases

Your Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Google Advanced Search
Use advanced features to modify a regular Google search to make the most of the internet.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Web Editions This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal literature in the chemical sciences. Not all journals on this external site provide full text subscription access.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
"NOAA’s dedicated scientists use cutting-edge research and high-tech instrumentation to provide citizens, planners, emergency managers and other decision makers with reliable information they need, when they need it.
NOAA’s mission to better understand our natural world and help protect its precious resources extends beyond national borders to monitor global weather and climate, and work with partners around the world."

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books. Links to full-text are sometimes provided.

PubChem
PubChem is a public database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) of mostly small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. You'll find information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Industry-leading database of organic and inorganic substances, reactions, suppliers, and references to research published in chemistry and biomedical science disciplines. Access restricted to University of Redlands students and faculty. You must have a Scifinder-n username and password to access this database. Create your username and password using this link.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by John Rumble (Editor)
For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Chemical names and property units are standardized, and structures are provided for most substances.
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
CRC Handbook of Basic Tables for Chemical Analysis by Thomas J. Bruno; Paris D. N. Svoronos
Publication Date: 2010
The Handbook is a one-stop reference that presents data in a format specifically designed for use when reaching a decision point in designing an analysis or interpreting results.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals and e-books. Not all search results are for subscribed journals. Search Articles, Books & More to find full text.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing to scholarly journals in the sciences and social sciences. Not all search results are for subscribed journals. Click on "Download PDF" to get the full text of a search result when available.