Armacost Library: DANCE: Databases

Recommended Databases & Online Resources

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index to reviews and scholarly articles covering the performing arts, maintained by the Theatre Research Data Center at Brooklyn College.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
Medici.tv EDU This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to over 4,000 concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master classes and jazz programs in HD.

Freely Available Resources Online

Dance History Project of Southern California
The Dance History Project’s goal is to observe and preserve the history of dance making and performing in Southern California. The focus is on those events and artists, past and present, whose work has been important to the field of live professional dance in Southern California.
Dance Research at the Library of Congress
The digital collections with dance materials represent genres including worldwide traditional dances, European and American social dance practices, ballet and modern dance, and more.
Hemispheric Institute of the Americas Digital Video Library
Digital project from NYU Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics that "provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance."
Jerome Robbins Dance Division Digital Collections (New York Public Library)
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division is the world’s largest dance archive and library with an international and extensive collection that spans seven centuries.
Merce Cunningham Trust "Dance Capsules"
“Dance Capsules” have preserved 86 of Merce Cunningham’s key works from the Cunningham repertory so that future generations can study and perform these works with knowledge of how they originally came to life.
National Film Board of Canada: Dance Films
Freely available streaming titles from NSB related to dance, browsable by category.
numeridanse.tv: International Online Dance Video Library
Free online dance videos, managed by a community of dance professionals and supported and coordinated by the Maison de la Danse in Lyon.
Pioneers of Chinese Dance Digital Archive
From the University of Michigan, this digital photograph collection is focused on twentieth-century Chinese dance. It currently includes more than 1,500 digital images.
Streaming Dance (from the New York Public Library)
The internet is always a great resource for streaming videos of dance. From historic recordings, documentaries, and original pieces from up and coming choreographers, there is a great deal to be found. Below are a selection of YouTube videos and channels, as well as performing arts focused streaming, that you can access now.
Videotanz
Streaming dance, theater, and opera performances.

Related Databases & Online Resources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.