Armacost Library: SOAN 221: Rethinking Politics (Fields): Disciplinary Databases

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Annual Review of Sociology
Covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world. Full text through 2008 available in JSTOR subscription.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.
Sage Sociology
This collection includes 140 peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies, encompassing over 130,521 articles.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to international sociology research published as books, articles, dissertations and reviews from 1952 to the present.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly articles and dissertations related to sociology and social work, published from 1985 to present.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Covers newspapers, magazines and periodicals relating to politics and economics.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Database provides visual analysis of U.S. demographics ranging back to 1940.

Ballotpedia
Ballotpedia is the digital encyclopedia of American politics, and the nation’s premier resource for unbiased information on elections, politics, and policy.
FiveThirtyEight
538 uses statistical analysis — hard numbers — to tell compelling stories about elections, politics, economics, and American society.
Google Advanced Search
Used advanced search settings to make the most of a simple Google search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

RealClearPolitics
At RealClearPolitics (RCP) we’re dedicated to providing our readers with better, more insightful analysis of the most important news and policy issues of the day. RCP’s daily editorial curation and original reporting present balanced, non-partisan analysis that empowers our readers to stay informed.
RealClearPolling
RealClearPolling aggregates polls for presidential and congressional elections providing an average for the results.