Armacost Library: MECM 360-01: Costume Design for Television and Film: Online Resources

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Art Full Text
Provides full text articles from various art publications throughout the world.
ArtStor Digital Library
Interdisciplinary image library containing over 1.6 million images from the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Full text of over 500 scholarly journals covering research into communication and popular media.
Historical Abstracts
Provides citations to books, journal articles and dissertations on world history 1450 to present (United States and Canada excluded, see America, History and Life)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals.
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to journals in the humanities.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.

Commercial Pattern Archive
A project of the US Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) Costume Commission, the Commercial Pattern Archive is a searchable database of commercial sewing patterns dating from 1847-2014. A robust search allows users to narrow by years, garment type, occasion, gender, age, and pattern company among others. A valuable resource for any researching period clothing.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Images from works within LACMA's extensive collections are available to browse. Some images are believed to be in the public domain while others may not be.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online
400,000 images of public domain works in the Museum’s world-renowned collection may be downloaded directly from the Museum’s website for non-commercial use—including in scholarly publications in any media—without permission from the Museum and without a fee. The number of available images will increase as new digital files are added on a regular basis.
Victoria & Albert Museum
The V&A is a family of museums dedicated to the power of creativity. Our mission is to champion design and creativity in all its forms, advance cultural knowledge, and inspire makers, creators and innovators everywhere. We share a 5,000 year old story of creativity through exhibitions, events, educational programmes, digital experiences, conservation, research and an ever-evolving national collection of over 2.8 million objects spanning every creative discipline.

TARDIS Wiki
A fan run Wikipedia style encyclopedia for information on Doctor Who. Includes articles for episodes, characters, and concepts from throughout the series' 60 year history.
Doctor Who on BBC
The BBC's official webpage for Doctor Who. Includes articles and interviews with show staff and short encyclopedia-like articles for major characters.

Digital Commons Network
Browse a database of over 600,000 open access articles covering all subject areas, maintained at institutional repositories around the world.
Google Scholar
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

Calisphere
Calispere is a gateway to digital collections containing photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Maintained by the California Digital Library.
Google Advanced Search
Internet Movie Database (IMDb) (Advanced Search)
MDb started in 1990 as a hobby project by an international group of movie and TV fans. Offers a searchable database of more than 100 million data items including more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast and crew members.
Public Domain Image Archive
The Public Domain Image Archive (PDIA) — brought to you by The Public Domain Review (PDR) — is a curated collection of more than 10,000 out-of-copyright historical images, free for all to explore and reuse. Our aim is to offer a platform that will serve both as a practical resource and a place to simply wander — an ever-growing portal to discover more than 2000 years of visual culture.
The Public Domain Project
Whether you’re a filmmaker, musician, designer, student, or just a history buff, the Pond5 Public Domain Project is making copyright-free media available for you.