BIOL 403: Research in Molecular and Cellular Biology: Background Info

The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology, Fifth Edition, provides definitions for thousands of terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. The headword count has been expanded to 12,000 from 10,000 in the Fourth Edition. Over 4,000 headwords have been rewritten. Some headwords have second, third, and even sixth definitions, while fewer than half are unchanged. Many of the additions were made to extend the scope in plant cell biology, microbiology, and bioinformatics. Several entries related to specific pharmaceutical compounds have been removed, while some generic entries ("alpha blockers," "NSAIDs," and "tetracycline antibiotics," for example), and some that are frequently part of the experimentalist's toolkit and probably never used in the clinic, have been retained. The Appendix includes prefixes for SI units, the Greek alphabet, useful constants, and single-letter codes for amino acids. Thoroughly revised and expanded by over 20% with over 12,000 entries in cellular and molecular biology Includes expanded coverage of terms, including plant molecular biology, microbiology and biotechnology areas Consistently provides the most complete short definitions of technical terminology for anyone working in life sciences today Features extensive cross-references Provides multiple definitions, notes on word origins, and other useful features

Microbiology for Allied Health Students is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements for the single semester Microbiology course for non-majors and allied health students. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of Microbiology for Allied Health Students make the material interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter.

In his 1968 memoir, The Double Helix (Readers Union, 1969), the brash young scientist James Watson chronicled the drama of the race to identify the structure of DNA, a discovery that would usher in the era of modern molecular biology. After half a century, the implications of the double helix keep rippling outward; the tools of molecular biology have forever transformed the life sciences and medicine. The Annotated and Illustrated Double Helix adds new richness to the account of the momentous events that led the charge.

Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With over 5,200 clear and concise entries, over 300 of them new to this edition, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology,biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions. Appendices include classification of the animal and plantkingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; model organisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners - the last two new to this edition.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences will provide a unique and dynamic resource in life science research -- both as an online web database and as a 20-volume printed reference set.Integrating current theory, practice, and understanding of all basic and many applied aspects of the life sciences, Encyclopedia of Life Sciences places particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine.Some 3,500 of the world's leading scientists are contributing 4,000 signed articles -- 12 million words -- plus extensive tables, figures, and illustrations. ELS will be extensively cross-referenced and indexed, with an estimated 26,000 internal links and up to 180,000 index entries. A distinguished, international group of Scientific Advisors will ensure that ELS remains authoritative, timely, and comprehensive.The electronic version of ELS will offer both the student and specialist appropriate search and retrieval facilities and multimedia features, including direct links from references to primary literature and other useful information resources. An important feature of the electronic version will be regular updates to the information provided.The print version of ELS will be a 20-volume, large format set, presented on acid-free paper in a durable clothbound library binding. Every volume will be extensively illustrated in color and black and white.

Hundreds of well-illustrated articles explore the most important fields of science. The entries are supplemented by conversion tables, explanations of scientific, technical and mathematical notations as well as tables of statistical and historical interest.