Reference database containing encyclopedia articles, research summaries, images, video and biographies pertaining to key science disciplines including biology, chemistry, physics and environmental studies.
Videos on motion, momentum, forces, waves, and more.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Physics by John Daintith (Editor)This is the most popular dictionary of physics available. It contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. With 200 new entries and expanded coverage in areas including applied physics, statistical distributions, polymers, and nanoscience, A Dictionary of Physics is more comprehensive than ever before.The dictionary is generously illustrated with over 120 diagrams, graphs, and tables and it also contains biographies of important scientists. Feature entries provide in-depth analysis of key topics such ascrystal defects, magnetic resonance imaging, and the solar system. Three feature entries on low-temperature physics, nanophysics, and quantum entanglement are brand new to this edition. Also new to this edition are entry-level web links and a web linked appendix. These recommended web links are accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Physics companion web page and provide useful and relevant extra information. Appendices include SI units, the solar system, and theelectromagnetic spectrum, plus a list of Nobel Prize winners and a chronology of key dates in physics. This fully revised and updated A-Z is an ideal introduction to the subject for anyone with aninterest in physics, and it remains an indispensable reference work for students of physics and physics-related subjects (either at school or at university), and professionals.
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Encyclopedia of Physics by Rita G. Lerner (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)The editors of this Encyclopedia, earlier editions of which met with international acclaim, have now provided a fully revised, expanded and updated third edition of this comprehensive reference work. In two volumes, 500 experts -- among them several Nobel laureates and numerous other scientific award winners -- offer a comprehensive and topical account of physics and the physical world. The volumes comprise more than 500 articles, which have either been completely updated or are altogether new, covering the latest terminology and techniques in physics, including atomic trapping and cooling, biophotonics, econophysics, the formation of stars and planets, quantum communication, space science and technology, and traffic flow.
Publication Date: 2005-10-28
Dictionary of Colour by Ian PatersonAccess the ebook here. This dictionary is the first of its kind: a treasury of color words and phrases, a comprehensive resource for exploring every aspect of color and it many applications across the disciplines and through the ages.Words are drawn from many different worlds including art, artists, craft and design, painting, printing and sculpture, the decorative arts, gems, fashion, textiles, cosmetics, physics, maths, astronomy, chemistry, dyes, colorants, paints, biology, geography, geology, minerals, history, art history, social history, religion, philosophy, heraldry, mythology and symbolism, languarge, linguistrics, grammar, slang, literature inc. the Bible and Shakespeare], music, theatre, photography, television and film, psychology and human behavior, education, politics, commerce, economics, finance, law, travel, war, vision and color-blindness, medicine, drugs and color therapy, food and drink, color theory and many others.Who should buy this book?Writers, journalists, copywriters, graphic, textile and fashion designers, artists and illustrators, art students, art critics, decorators, architects, set designers, colorists and dye-makers, color scientists, product designers, product originators and marketers, manufacturers of paints and wall-papers, language enthusiasts, word-lovers and dictionary collectors, general libraries and academic libraries relating to the above disciplines.
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by Donald FennaNew to the Paperback Reference series is this comprehensive and authoritative dictionary which provides definitions of units, prefixes, and styles of weights and measures within the Syst#65533;me International (SI) as well as traditional and industry-specific units. With over 1600 measurement terms, numerous tables, the geochronologic scale and the equation of time, it will prove invaluable to professional scientists, engineers, technicians, and students.
Publication Date: 2002-10-26
More Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Weather by Storm DunlopWhat is the coldest place on the planet? How does a hurricane form? What exactly is a low pressure system? And what area has the least, or most, amount of rainfall? Answering these and many other intriguing questions, A Dictionary of Weather provides a comprehensive body of information with over 1,800 weather, forecasting, and climate terms, along with detailed illustrative examples of specific events and weather extremes. With this resource, you can easily find where and when the world's largest hailstone fell and where the highest temperature was recorded. Using the list of weather records, you can also check climate data for different weather types from around the world. Key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are covered as are the important people in the development of meteorology, including Sir Francis Beaufort. In addition, there is a plate section that shows the main cloud types as well as satellite images of weather systems, making this book both highly informative and visually appealing for anyone who gets excited about our ever-changing weather.
Publication Date: 2001-05-24
Q Is for Quantum by John GribbinHere in one volume John Gribbin, the award-winning science writer and physicist, has collected the answer to everything you need to know about the quantum world -- the place where most of the greatest scientific advances of the twentieth century have been made. This exceptional reference begins with a thorough introduction setting out the current state of knowledge in particle physics. Throughout, Gribbin blends articles on the structure of particles and their interactions, accounts of the theoretical breakthroughs in quantum mechanics and their practical applications, and entertaining biographies of the scientists who have blazed the trail of discovery. In a special section, "Timelines," key dates in our quest to understand the quantum world are mapped out alongside landmarks in world history and the history of science. Q is for Quantum is an essential companion for anyone interested in particle physics.Historical highlights include: Isaac Newton's work on particles in the seventeenth century; the eighteenth- and nineteenth-century transformation of alchemy into chemistry, culminating in Dmitiri Mendeleyev's publication of the periodic table of the elements in 1869; James Clerk Maxwell's investigation of electromagnetism and waves around the same time; and the brilliant research of Christiaan Huygens, Thomas Young, and Augustin Fresnel. Among the longer biographies in the book number those of such twentieth-century scientific giants as Erwin Schroedinger, Albert Einstein, Richard Feynman, Linus Pauling, Robert Oppenheimer, and Andrei Sakharov.Quantum physics today is directly and continuously relevant to life. Fundamental life processes such as the workings of DNA depend on the quantum behavior of atoms. As entries in the encyclopedia note, the human conquest of this micro-realm has already led to the development of computer chips and the valuable technique of carbon dating, and we are on the verge of still greater practical advances. Gribbin shows that real quantum computer technology is gradually realizing the dreams of science fiction, and identifies the amazing possibilities of energy from nuclear fusion. No one can doubt that the fruits of quantum electrodynamics, the most accurate scientific theory ever developed, have yet to be fully gathered. And no one will dispute that this is the only reference to this weird and wonderful world. The curious, the imaginative, and the bold will require this encyclopedia of the fundamental science of the future.
Publication Date: 1999-02-19
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy by Heinz-Helmut Perkampus; Heide-Charlotte Grinter (Translator); Roger Grinter (Translator)What is the best method to solve a given analytical problem? How does a Fourier transform spectrometer really work? Why is it advantageous to use the resonance Raman effect? If you ever used spectroscopic techniques, questions like these will sound familiar to you - and there are probably many more you always wanted to ask. Finally, here is the world of spectroscopy at your fingertips! Presented in a handy format, the Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy offers a wealth of information: clear, comprehensive and richly illustrated accounts cover spectroscopic principles, methods and applications, ranging from atomic to molecular spectroscopy. Keywords from infrared, Raman, AAS, NMR, and UV-VIS spectroscopy, just to mention a few, are included - from Abb?'s number to Zeeman effect, from ATR to XPS, from absorbance to zero-zero transition... Additionally, many entries on instrumentation will help you when you are trouble-shooting at your spectrometer. This book will find its place on your desk rather than on your shelf.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by William M. HaynesProudly serving the scientific community for over a century, this 96th edition of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
The 96th edition of the Handbook includes 18 new or updated tables along with other updates and expansions. A new series highlighting the achievements of some of the major historical figures in chemistry and physics was initiated with the 94th edition. This series is continued with this edition, which is focused on Lord Kelvin, Michael Faraday, John Dalton, and Robert Boyle. This series, which provides biographical information, a list of major achievements, and notable quotations attributed to each of the renowned chemists and physicists, will be continued in succeeding editions. Each edition will feature two chemists and two physicists.
The 96th edition now includes a complimentary eBook with purchase of the print version. This reference puts physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms every day within easy reach.
Publication Date: June 9, 2015
Scientific Unit Conversion by Francois CardarelliThis unique and detailed guide gives accurate metric equivalents and conversion factors for more than 10,000 scientific units as well as detailed descriptions of over 2,000. It covers the full range of science, technology and medicine and deals with US customary, British, conventional metric, historic systems and SI units. One section allows a search by application area while another details mathematical and physical constants. Appendices contain lists of national and international standardization organizations and there is also an English-French lexicon of terms. A detailed bibliography completes this comprehensive guide. The pocket book format has been chosen for its compact size whilst the structure of the book is intended to make it as accessible as possible. Full use is made of easily referenced conversion charts and tables. Scientific Unit Conversion will be invaluabl e for working scientists, students and libraries.
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Kaye and Laby : Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants by G. W. C. Kaye; T. H. LabyThis edition has been revised to include sections covering medical ultrasonics, fibre optics, high temperature superconductivity, atomic spectroscopy, infra-red and Raman spectroscopy, mass and UV-visible spectometry, flash points and explosive limits in air and autoignition temperatures, Rutherford scattering formulae and magnetic and electrostatic bending radii. In addition, new chapters on laboratory safety and quality assurance have been added and the section on statistical methods has been re-written as a new chapter.
Publication Date: 1995
AIP Physics Desk Reference by E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)Originally published by the American Institute of Physics as the Physics Vade Mecum, this third edition has been completely updated to reflect contemporary modern physics. It is a concise compilation of the most frequently used physics data and formulae with their derivations, and this edition contains six new chapters, with outdated chapters dropped, and new chapters added on atmospheric physics, electricity and magnetism, elementary particle physics, fluid dynamics, geophysics, nonlinear physics, particle accelerators, polymer physics, and quantum theory. A new, final chapter deals with practical laboratory data, while the references and bibliographies have been updated. The book should prove a valuable tool for researchers, professionals and students in physics as well as others who use physics data.