RELIGIOUS STUDIES: Christianity (Larsen): Mapping Tools and Sites

Historical map collection containing over 55,000 maps and images. Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. In 2022 Rumsey gave the entire digital collection to the Internet Archive to preserve and make available in the Archive's online library.

Scholarly initiative to create a comprehensive interactive electronic historical world atlas combining mapping, imagery, and texts.

A rich collection of maps and manuscripts.

A collection comprised of seven Site Maps covering the ancient Near East (Egypt, Sudan, The Levant, Syria, Turkey, Iraq, and Iran), locating primary archaeological sites, modern cities, and river courses set against a plain background.

The Antiquity À-la-carte application is a web-based GIS interface and interactive digital atlas of the ancient world, featuring historical, cultural, and geographical data produced as a Project feature set. The map is searchable with customizable features, allowing for the creation of maps of the Mediterranean covering periods from Archaic Greece to Late Antiquity.

Desktop mapping and spatial data analysis application produced by Esri (formerly, Environmental Systems Research Institute, Inc.) that allows users to create original maps using geographic data in electronic form.

Produced by the Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies at the Australian National University. Supports online research in the field of dromography and provides a public-access electronic archive of geo/chrono-referenced data on land, river and maritime trade routes of Eurasia and Africa during the period 4,000 BCE - circa 1820 CE.

Pleiades gives scholars, students, and enthusiasts worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form. At present, Pleiades has extensive coverage for the Greek and Roman world, and is beginning to expand into Ancient Near Eastern, Byzantine, Celtic, and Early Medieval geography.

For the first time, ORBIS allows us to express Roman communication costs in terms of both time and expense. By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity.

ORBIS VIA allows users to assess the methods/routes of travel available between respective ancient sites and the number of days it would have taken to get from one place to the next.

Use this link to access the University of Redlands Spatial Studies Center and the Redlands portal to ArcGIS Online.