Skip to Main Content

Armacost Library

Ask Us

RELIGIOUS STUDIES: Christianity (Larsen): -- REL 308 Reference books

Reference books: what's the difference?

Dictionary: Provides the meaning of words in a language or field of knowledge.

Encyclopedia: A single or multi-volume reference work that provides general background articles on either a wide range of topics or a more specialized discipline.

Handbook: A compact reference book giving the essential information in a given field of study.

Bible

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by Julia M. O'Brien (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: BS680.W7 O94 2014 (Reference collection)
ISBN: 9780199836994
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
Women's Bible Commentary by Carol A. Newsom (Editor); Sharon H. Ringe (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1611641993
Publication Date: 1998-05-01

Greco-Roman World

The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by Graham Shipley; Lin Foxhall; David Mattingly; John Vanderspoel
Call Number: DE5 .C28 2006 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0521483131
Publication Date: 2006-06-08
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
Call Number: DE5 .O9 2012 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780199545568
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by John Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O94 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0192801457
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O95 2010 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece by Nigel Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: DF16 .E52 2006 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0415973341
A Companion to the Roman Empire by David S. Potter (Editor)
Call Number: DG311.P68 2006 (Online)
ISBN: 9781405199186
Publication Date: 2009-12-02

Judaism

Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Second Edition by Jacob Neusner (Editor)
Call Number: BM50 .E634 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9789004147874
Publication Date: 2005-12-23
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Adele Berlin (Editor-In-Chief); Maxine Grossman (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: BM50 O94 2011 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780199730049
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Daily Life in Roman Palestine by Catherine Hezser (Editor)
Call Number: DS122 .O94 2020 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780198856023
Publication Date: 2020-07-14

Christianity

The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity by Daniel Patte (Editor)
Call Number: BR95 .C24 2010 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780521820967
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Call Number: BR95 .O8 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0192802909
The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity by John McManners (Editor)
Call Number: BR145.2 .O86 1990
ISBN: 0198229283
Publication Date: 1990-11-29
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: BR162.2 .E53 1997 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780815316633
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: BS440 .A54 1992 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0385193513
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by Mark Allan Powell
Call Number: BS440 .H235 2011 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780061469060
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Craig A. Evans (Editor); Stanley E. Porter (Editor)
Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780830817801
Publication Date: 2000
The Routledge Encyclopedia of the Historical Jesus by Craig Evans (Editor)
Call Number: BT303.2 .E56 2008 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780415975698
Publication Date: 2008-04-03

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2024 10:45 AM
URL: https://library.redlands.edu/christianity
Print Page

University of Redlands

1200 East Colton Ave P.O. Box 3080
Redlands, CA 92373 United States

Tel: (909) 793-2121

Fax: (909) 793-2029

©2016 University of Redlands. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy
Emergency