Armacost Library: FS 03/22: Imagined Communities; Redrawing the Map of Religion: Recommended Databases

Anatomy of a scholarly article

*Adapted from Oregon State University Libraries, "What is a scholary article?" and sourced from North Carolina State University Library.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for articles on historical topics of the United States and Canada.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in religious and theological publications.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Index of sources from 1970 to present relating to the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the GLBTQ communities and research on gender roles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.
New York Times
The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews. As one of the longest-running newspapers in the United States, the Times serves as one of the country's newspapers of record.
You can create your own account and read for free by following the directions linked here.