Armacost Library: BIOL 103: Issues & Techniques in Genetic Engineering: Browse in the Library

Browsing Books by Subject

Biology books are on the 3^rd and 4^th floors in the Armacost Library. Journals (print) are on the 2^nd floor, the entry level of the library. If you would like to browse the books & journals, use the chart below to determine the relevant call number range.

Call Number	Subject
QH301-705.5	Biology (General)
QH359-425	Evolution
QH426-470	Genetics
QH471-489	Reproduction
QH501-549.5	Ecology
QH573-671	Cytology
QH705-705.5	Economic Biology
QR1-502	Microbiology
QR1-74.5	General Microbiology
QR75-99.5	Bacteria
QR99.6-99.8	Cyanobacteria
QR100-130	Microbial Ecology
QR171	Microorganisms in the animal body
QR180-189.5	Immunology
QR355-502	Virology

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide overviews on various topics, making them wonderful resources if you need to introduce yourself to something new. Since encyclopedias are reference books, they cannot be checked out. Please give yourself time to consult these items while in the library.

Encyclopedia of Genetics by Sydney Brenner (Editor); Jeffrey H. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection QH 427 .E53 2002
ISBN: 0122270800
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems by Julie McDowell (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection QP 11 .M33 2010
ISBN: 9780313391750
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Bioscience by McGraw Hill
Call Number: Reference Collection QH 302.5 .M378 2005
ISBN: 0071439560
Publication Date: 2005-03-23

Dictionaries

The library has print and online biology dictionaries and here is a freely-available online biology dictionary.

A Dictionary of Biology by Oxford University Press Staff (Created by); Robert S. Hine (Editor); Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QH302.5 .D54 2008
ISBN: 9780199204625
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
Clear and concise entries accessible to biology students in high school or college, this dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, including biographical entries on key scientists; highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure; and appendices covering useful web sites, mass extinctions, SI units, model organisms and their genomes, and Nobel prizewinners. A companion website offers additional, regularly updated information.
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology by John M. Lackie (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780123849311
Publication Date: 2013-01-15
A Dictionary of Genetics by Robert C. King; William D. Stansfield
Call Number: General Collection QH 427 .K55 2002
ISBN: 0195143248
Publication Date: 2002
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Richard Cammack (Editor); Teresa Atwood; Peter Campbell; Howard Parish; Tony Smith; John Stirling; Frank Vella
Call Number: General Collection QP 512 .O94 2006
ISBN: 9780198529170
Publication Date: 2006-08-24