Armacost Library: REL 251: Women, Sex &amp; Western Religion (Larsen): Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

What's the difference...?

Dictionary: Provides the meaning of words in a language or field of knowledge.

Encyclopedia: A single or multi-volume reference work that provides general background articles on either a wide range of topics or a more specialized discipline.

Handbook: A compact reference book giving the essential information in a given field of study.

General

A Companion to Gender History by Teresa Meade; Merry Wiesner-Hanks
Call Number: Available online
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Bonnie G. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1121 .O93 2008 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780195148909
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by John Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O94 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0192801457
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender, Two-Volume Set by Judith Worell (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1115 .E43 2001 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0122272455
Publication Date: 2001-10-16
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Set by Rosemary Skinner Keller, et. al.
Call Number: BL458 .E52 2006
ISBN: 9780253346858
Publication Date: 2006-04-19
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: DE5 .O95 2010 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780195170726
Publication Date: 2009-12-31

Christianity

Encyclopedia of Christianity by John Bowden (Editor)
Call Number: BR95 .E47 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 0195223934
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Everett Ferguson (Editor)
Call Number: BR162.2 .E53 1997 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780815316633
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary - Revised and Updated by Mark Allan Powell
Call Number: BS440 .H235 2011 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780061469060
Publication Date: 2011-03-08

Judaism

Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Second Edition by Jacob Neusner (Editor)
Call Number: BM50 .E634 2005 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9789004147874
Publication Date: 2005-12-23

Islam

Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States by Jocelyne Cesari
Call Number: BP67.U6 E53 2007 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780313336256
Publication Date: 2007-09-30
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (Set Volumes 1-6) by Suad Joseph (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1170 .E53 (Reference Collection and Online)
ISBN: 9004132473
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
The New Encyclopedia of Islam by Cyril Glassé; Huston Smith (Foreword by); Cyril Glassé
Call Number: BP40 .G42 2008
ISBN: 9780742562967
Publication Date: 2008-07-11
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: DS35.53 .O96 2009 (Reference Collection)
ISBN: 9780195305135
Publication Date: 2009-04-03