Disciplinary Databases - Find Articles - BIOL 332: Nutrition (Forristal) - Armacost Library at University of Redlands

Find Articles Online

If you already have a citation to an article, use "Find a specific item" on the Armacost Library's home to see if we have the article online, in print, or in microform. You can also access the "Find a specific item" form from this link.

What is a Database?

It is not possible to identify individual articles by searching the library catalog; you need databases for this. A database from the library is a set of records for given journals, books, theses or newspapers. You can search for items as you would in the catalog, and when the database returns the results of your search, you may choose to check whether the item is on the shelves, or available electronically. Most of our databases include materials not freely available on the internet.

In many cases the full text of the article will be directly available. If not, the full-text of an article or a book can be obtained through interlibrary loan.

Databases with Science Content - Popular and Scholarly

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Search the National Library of Medicine's index to life science research published since 1950. Use the default Thomson Web of Science interface or access Medline as part of a PubMed.gov search.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Searches the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs). Provides full-text access to evidence-based medical research.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of every area of the life sciences, from Botany to Zoology.
USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
Simple, one-stop access to more than 7 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.

Google Advanced Search

What Are Review Articles?

What are Review Articles?

Review articles are written to summarize the current state of the research on a particular topic. Ideally, the writer searches for everything relevant to the topic, and then sorts it all out into a coherent view of the “state of the art” as it now stands. Review articles will teach you about:

the main people working in a field

recent major advances and discoveries

significant gaps in the research

current debates

ideas of where research might go next

More information from Rider University Libraries