Armacost Library: BIOL 332: Nutrition (Forristal): Find Books

Find Information

Search Strategies: In the catalog

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases...

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works provide overviews on various topics, making them valuable resources if you need to introduce yourself to something new or check facts. Give yourself time to consult print reference books while in the library as they cannot be checked out.

Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics by Joan Gandy (Editor); Angela Madden (Editor); Michelle Holdsworth (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. RM 217.2 .O94 2014
ISBN: 9780199585823
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
Fully updated, the Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics, second edition is a practical quick-reference guide to the vital and valued subject of nutrition in the prevention and treatment of disease and the maintenance of good health. This handbook will be an invaluable companion for alldieticians, nutritionists, and nurses, as well as doctors and students in a variety of specialities.Concise and bulleted, this handbook takes an integrated approach which facilitates the links between all aspects of nutrition and dietetics. Including nutritional science and based on clinical evidence, it covers everything you will need to be able to carry out your role effectively and confidently.Sections on obesity and a new chapter on international nutrition are timely and topical. Also included is information on nutrition assessment, popular diets, nutrition in systems-based diseases, rarer conditions, as well as helpful lists of foods rich in or free from certain nutrients, and normalrange guides and handy reference values. This handbook makes sure the relevant information is at your fingertips whenever you need it, with links to further reading and online sources.
CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by Carolyn D. Berdanier
Call Number: Ref. QP 141 .B523 2006
ISBN: 9780849338359
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect the major advances over the past decade, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition concisely defines hundreds of terms used in nutrition science. This second edition also includes new sections on mitochondrial diseases, effects of infant nutrition on diseases later in life, new dietary guidelines and recommendations for nutrient uptakes, newly discovered hormones, new herbal remedies, and drugs used for managing chronic diseases such as diabetes and obesity. Alphabetizing, summarizing, and illustrating key information for easy reference, this book provides quick answers for physicians, nurses, dietitians, physical therapists, pharmacists, and students.
The New Complete Book of Food, Second Edition by Carol Ann Rinzler; Jane Brody (Introduction by); Manfred Kroger (Foreword by)
Call Number: Ref. TX 353 .R525 2009
ISBN: 9780816077106
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
A completely updated edition of the popular food guide, ""The New Complete Book of Food, Second Edition"" provides the nutritional, medical, culinary, and consumer information essential to planning a good diet and properly handling food. In more than 300 A-to-Z entries, this comprehensive new resource catalogs the physical, chemical, and medical properties of food; their benefits and hidden dangers; how foods change when they are processed or cooked; how to properly select, prepare, and store food; and, much, much more. Each entry has been revised and updated to reflect the most current information available about diet and nutrition. Most updates have been made to the Nutritional Profile, Medical Uses and/or Benefits, Adverse Effects Associated with This Food, and Food/Drug Interactions. Each entry covers: Nutritional Profile; About the Nutrients in This Food; The Most Nutritious Way to Serve This Food; Diets That May Restrict or Exclude This Food; Buying This Food; Storing This Food; Preparing This Food; What Happens When You Cook This Food; How Other Kinds of Processing Affect This Food; Medical Uses and/or Benefits; Adverse Effects Associated with This Food; and, Food/Drug Interactions.
Encyclopedia of Human Body Systems by Julie McDowell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QP 11 .M33 2010
ISBN: 9780313391750
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
This encyclopedia is a concise yet comprehensive guide to the systems of the human body that is accessible to the lay reader. * Features over 150 pictures, anatomical drawings, tables, and diagrams * Provides entertaining sidebars and interesting facts throughout the encyclopedia * Contains a bibliography and index to aid in study * The comprehensive glossary contains more than 600 terms used in the text
Dictionary of Biology by Oxford University Press Staff (Created by); Robert S. Hine (Editor); Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. QH 302.5 .D54 2008
ISBN: 9780199204625
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With over 5,200 clear and concise entries, over 300 of them new to this edition, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecularevolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions. Appendices include classification of the animal and plant kingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; modelorganisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners - the last two new to this edition.

Search tips

These search tips can be used in the library catalog or in the databases:

First, generate a set of terms related to your topic:

photological morphology phylogenic endocrine soma

neurology parasite cytology bionics

Employ the AND operator to narrow your search to results that mention both keywords:

evolution AND genetics will capture items that discuss both concepts.

Use the OR operator to broaden your search by using variants or synonyms of the same keyword:

zoologicalOR zoologic OR faunal

"phylogenic classification" OR "phyletic classification"

The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol that is used to catch variants of a word:

neuro* captures items with the keywords that begin with neuro--

It can be placed anywhere in the word or phrase: *neuro captures both psychoneuroimmunology and neuropsychiatry.

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase: "biology, experimental" , "developmental biology"

How to read a call number

The call number gives the location of the book; it's the book's address. You know the call number, you know where to look.

Find books beyond Armacost Library

Request items via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Requests may take 1-2 weeks to fulfill.