Armacost Library: HISTORY: Disciplinary Databases

Your Subject Librarian

she / her

Email Me

Contact:

Library #221

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, History, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies

Digital Commons Network
Browse a database of over 600,000 open access articles covering all subject areas, maintained at institutional repositories around the world.
eScholarship, University of California
Provides open access, scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars to scholars worldwide.
HathiTrust
Digital library of books and journals containing full text access to over one million copyright free items and many government publications.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for articles on historical topics of the United States and Canada.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, articles and government documents covering all aspects of native North American culture, history and life.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books, journal articles and dissertations on world history 1450 to present (United States and Canada excluded, see America, History and Life)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to 100+ scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.

There are many online archives. This list focuses on U.S. history.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
American newspapers from 1756-1963. From the Library of Congress
Making of America Collection
The Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience as well as cultures around the world.
National Archives
"...records of enduring value that were created or received by organizations of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal Government." You will NOT find: "records of state, county, city, or town governments, or of churches or other private institutions."
Online Archive of California
"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions. Contains over 220,000 digital images and documents" From UC Libraries