Armacost Library: BUSINESS: Disciplinary Databases

Developing a strategy

Before you begin searching for articles in the databases, it is ideal to have some idea what you are hoping to find. This is aided significantly by a clear research question, from which you can derive key search terms. You can also anticipate what types of sources are more likely to contain certain types of information and perspectives. Is the type of information you need more likely to be written by an academic (in peer-reviewed journals), a journalist (in a popular newspaper or magazine), or an industry expert (in a trade publication)? All of these resources are available through the listed databases.

Your Subject Librarian

Jeff Bullington

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

227 Armacost Library
University of Redlands
Redlands, CA 92373

(909) 748-8096

Recommended Databases & Online Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in management, industry news, and company information.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for over 1,120 business publications.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 75 business periodicals spanning throughout the United States.

Related Databases & Online Resources

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for articles on historical topics of the United States and Canada.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly single-issue reports providing authoritative background information and analysis of current issues.
Econlit This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and working papers on economics.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts from over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text journals from the American Psychological Association.

Other Online Resources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.