Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

BIOLOGY: Find Books, Articles & More

Find Information

 

How do I start searching?

Input Your Search Term(s) (1/2)

Type a keyword or phrase into the search bar and click the magnifying glass to perform the search. Search for articles, books, magazines, newspapers, and more, all in one search!

For more focused research, go directly to specialized and subject-specific databases.

Choose Your Search Option (2/2)

Once you enter your search terms, a scope menu will appear. Use the dropdown menu in the search box to limit search to a specific collection (ex. Armacost Resources or Course Reserves).

What do I do with the search results?

1/5

Limiting Search Results (2/5)

Let's walk through some options for filtering (narrowing) your search results. Scroll through the options in the column on the left.

Limiting Search Results (3/5)

Depending on your specific research needs you may choose to limit your results to only electronic resources (Available online), or peer reviewed materials, or items only physically available in Armacost Library (Held by library). 

Limit by Resource Type (4/5)

Another way to narrow the results of your search is to limit by "resource type" (format, genre). Do you need a book? A film or book review? A scholarly journal article? A government report? Look for the corresponding Resource Type.

Other Filters (5/5)

There are a variety of other filters you may choose to use to narrow the scope of your search, such as limiting your results to those published within a specific journal or by a specific author. Other facets by which you can limit your results include year of publication, database, subject, and language.

How do I use Advanced Search?

Advanced Search (1/3)

Use Advanced Search to search specific fields like title or author, and to narrow search results by material type (books, articles), language, or year of publication.

Select a Field (2/3)

Click on the "Any Field" drop-down menu to choose where Primo searches for your keywords in an item record. Options include: Title, Author/Creator, Subject, or ISSN (used for journals, magazines, newspapers). 

Search Material Type (3/3)

Click on "All Resources" for the drop-down menu to limit by Material Type. Options include: books, articles, journals, and video/film. 

NOTE: This is an incomplete list. For more options, perform your search first and then use the Resource Type facet in the left column to refine your results.

How do I find a specific article or journal?

Biology Encyclopedias, Manuals & Various Books @Armacost

Encyclopedias provide overviews on various topics, making them wonderful resources if you need to introduce yourself to something new.  Since encyclopedias are reference books, they cannot be checked out.  Please give yourself time to consult these items while in the library.

Where to look

Biology books are on the 3rd floor of the Armacost Library. Journals are on the 2nd floor, the entry level of the library. If you would like to browse the books & journals, use the  chart below to determine the relevant call number range. Otherwise, search the library catalog to find books by subject, title and author.

 

Call number

Subject

QH301-705.5 

Biology (General) 

QH359-425 

Evolution

QH426-470

Genetics

QH471-489

Reproduction

QH501-531

Life

QH540-549.5

Ecology

QH573-671

Cytology

QH705-705.5

Economic biology

 

 

QR1-502

Microbiology

QR1-74.5

General

QR75-99.5

Bacteria

QR99.6-99.8

Cyanobacteria

QR100-130

Microbial ecology

QR171

Microorganisms in the animal body

QR180-189.5

Immunology

QR355-502

Virology

 

 

Primo Search

Primo searches a large percentage of the Library's collections (digital and physical) at once, including:

  • Most of the Library's online access to articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers;
  • books, journals, DVDs, and other physical items found in the Library;
  • e-books;
  • and articles, theses, and honors projects published in InSPIRe.

Sign in to Primo

Sign in to:

  • renew loans
  • place requests
  • access your library record
  • save searches for future retrieval
  • save records to your folder
  • display additional journal database records

Search tips

These search tips can be used in the library catalog or in the databases:

First, generate a set of terms related to your topic:

    photological          morphology        phylogenic         endocrine         soma

               neurology            parasite            cytology             bionics

                  


 

Employ the AND operator to narrow your search to results that mention both keywords:

     evolution AND genetics will capture items that discuss both concepts.

Use the OR operator to broaden your search by using variants or synonyms of the same keyword:  

     zoological OR zoologic OR faunal

     "phylogenic classification" OR "phyletic classification"

The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol that is used to catch variants of a word:

     neuro* captures items with the keywords that begin with neuro--

     It can be placed anywhere in the word or phrase: *neuro captures both psychoneuroimmunology and neuropsychiatry.

Use quotation marks to search for an exact phrase: "biology, experimental" , "developmental biology"