Skip to main content
Ask Us

Other Special Collections: Welcome

About these collections

Armacost Library is home to numerous special collections of individuals related to the School of Music.

Contact Sanjeet Mann ( for assistance viewing these collections.

Wayne Bohrnstedt Collection

A collection of scores donated by Wayne Bohrnstedt, faculty emeriti at the University of Redlands and former Chair of the School of Music. Bohrnstedt's works have been performed by the Eastman-Rochester Symphony, the Detroit Symphony, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic. As a former faculty member at Bowling Green State University, Bohrnstedt wrote their university’s pre-game fight song "Forward Falcons." Redlands locals have our own treat, “Fanfare” played regularly at the Redlands Bowl Summer Music Festival.

Ivan Boutnikoff Collection

A personal score collection and manuscripts donated by Ivan Boutnikoff (1893-1972). During his lengthy career, Boutnikoff conducted for renowned orchestras such as the Brussels Symphony, Wiener Philharmoniker and Bolshoi Ballet. He was also known for his symphonic compositions and arrangements.

George Sheet Music Collection

Over 500 pieces of sheet music, mostly American compositions dating from the early to mid 20th century.

Angela Jelliffe Collection

Compositions and manuscript scores by Johnston alumna and former University of Redlands faculty member Angela Jelliffe '72.

Rowland Leach Collection

Original compositions of Rowland Leach (1885-1963), violinist and former director of the School of Music.

Walter Martin Sheet Music Collection

Over 1200 pieces of historical and modern vocal music donated by baritone and University of Redlands faculty member Walter Martin (1930-1987).

Alexandra Pierce Collection

Electronic copies of compositions by Dr. Alexandra Pierce, Emerita Professor of the University of Redlands. Dr. Pierce taught at the University from 1968 until 2001, directing the composition program and distinguishing herself as a pianist and scholar interested in the intersection of music and movement.