Skip to Main Content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

WGS 333: Pregnancy & Power-Reproductive Politics: Browse in the Library

Browsing Books

Library of Congress call numbers group books by topic. The HQ call number range is the primary location for Women's & Gender Studies. However, because WGST is interdisciplinary, you may find other call number ranges (subject areas) useful.

Call Number Subject
BL 458 Women in comparative religion
BT 83.55 Feminist Theology
HM Sociology (general and theoretical). Social psychology
HN Social History. Social problems. Social reform
HQ The family. Marriage. Women. Feminism
HQ 19-30.7 Sexual behavior and attitudes. Sexuality
HQ 75-76.8 Homosexuality. Lesbianism
HQ 77.7-77.95 Transexualism
HQ 503-1064 The Family. Marriage. Home
HQ 750-755.5 Eugenics
HQ 767.8-79.2 Children. Child development. Including child rearing, child life, play, socialization, children's rights
HQ 1075-1075.5 Sex role
HQ 1088-1090.7 Men
HQ 1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism
HT Communities. Classes. Races. Slavery
HV  Social and public welfare. Substance abuse. Criminology
PN 1590.W64 Feminist theater
PN 98.W64 Feminist literary theory
RA 777.8 Women's health

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and more

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and yearbooks provide basic information on almost any subject quickly.

Dictionary: Provides the meaning of words in a language or field of knowledge.

Encyclopedia: A single or multi-volume reference work that provides general background articles on either a wide range of topics or a more specialized discipline.

Handbook: A compact reference book giving the essential information in a given field of study.

Putting Search Terms Together

Boolean Operators: AND, OR, NOT and Other Symbols for More Effective Searching

theat* AND (classical OR antiquity)=Using the AND operater narrows your search to only results that mention both keywords.  Use the OR operator to search for variants or synonyms of the same keyword.  The asterisk (*) is a wildcard symbol that is used to catch variant endings of a word (individuality, individualism, as well as individual).

“trojan women” AND motherhood=Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase.

Find Books, Articles, & More

 

Select Books