Armacost Library: WGS 333: Pregnancy & Power-Reproductive Politics (Nelson): Disciplinary Databases

Your Subject Librarian

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Subjects: First-Year Seminars, Human-Animal Studies, Interdisciplinary, Johnston, Media & Visual Culture Studies, Race & Ethnic Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's & Gender Studies

Recommended Databases & Online Resources

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly single-issue reports providing authoritative background information and analysis of current issues.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Index of sources from 1970 to present relating to the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the GLBTQ communities and research on gender roles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Collection of thirty databases providing government, legal and regulatory information, including United States case laws, treaties, and official reports.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic) Provides full-text access to national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services; company, industry, and financial information; and legal sources including the Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases from 1789.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
All purpose database providing full text articles on a broad range of subjects. Science, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc.
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) International This link opens in a new window
Index to public policy research published worldwide from 1977 to the present. Includes books, government documents, statistical research, reports, conference papers and more.

Redalyc
Network of non-commercial academy-owned Open Access scientific journals. Redalyc is an indexing system that contains open access journals of scientific and editorial quality. After 16 years of providing visibility and supporting the consolidation of journals, it now incorporates exclusively those journals, from any part of the world, that share the non-profit publishing model in order to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scientific communication.
SciELO
SciELO Network provides Open Access (OA) to journals’ contents. Journals are organized in national and thematic collections. Each collection is managed by a nationally recognized research organization. Selection of journals to be indexed in and discontinued of a collection is of entire responsibility of each collection management organization, usually with the support of a scientific advisory committee.

Related Databases & Online Resources

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Covers newspapers, magazines and periodicals relating to politics and economics.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts for articles on historical topics of the United States and Canada.
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Indexes the leading sources in anthropology. Some full text is provided.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books, journal articles and dissertations on world history 1450 to present (United States and Canada excluded, see America, History and Life)
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to international sociology research published as books, articles, dissertations and reviews from 1952 to the present.

Other Online Resources

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research. Follow the Connect with Google Scholar directions to configure Google Scholar to get the full text of articles to which Armacost Library subscribes.

Center for Reproductive Rights
We are legal innovators seeking to fundamentally transform the landscape of reproductive health and rights worldwide, and have already strengthened laws and policies in more than 50 countries. Help us realize every woman's right to reproductive health and autonomy.
International Constitutional Law
This project is based in Europe and offers translations of constitutions.
Legal Information Institute
We are a small research, engineering, and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY. Our collaborators include publishers, legal scholars, computer scientists, government agencies, and other groups and individuals that promote open access to law, worldwide.
Political Database of the Americas
The PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.
Supreme Court Database
This database covers the Supreme Court decisions from 1953–2008 and is a “definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court.” Examples of information about each case available include “the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.”