REL 125: Introduction to World Religions (Larsen): Images

Search over 2 million collection objects held by the British Museum

A collection of images curated by the world’s foremost visual experts—capturing, creating and preserving content to elevate visual communications everywhere. By identifying cultural shifts, spearheading trends and powering the creative economy, we fuel visual storytelling worldwide.

Virtual collection of sacred objects donated by professional curator and scholar F. Lanier Graham to the GTU from 2014 to the present. Features devotional and ritual objects from the collection selected to help reveal stories, practices, and beliefs from the world’s religions.

Written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

"The Manar al-Athar website, based at the University of Oxford, aims to provide open-access, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication. These high-resolution images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, will cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule, such as Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa, and Spain. The chronological range is from Alexander the Great through the Islamic period to the present. It is the first website of its kind providing such material labelled jointly in both Arabic and English."

Photographs of artifacts in the galleries at the Met. Galleries are grouped by topic. Click on the gallery number to see photographs of selected artifacts in that gallery

Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more. Search by keyword, or Browse by Subject or broad topic, e.g., Culture & Society

"The Pluralism Project studies and interprets religious diversity and interfaith relations in the United States."

A for profit site curated by the photo editor of our Illustrated Guide to World Religions textbook.

Includes over 72,000 images that are available free of charge for educational use. ”The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery

Searchable database of over 40,000 photographs of Buddhist, Hindu, and Asian art and architecture.