Armacost Library: ENGL 213: Drama: Background Information

Reference Books

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks provide basic and background information on almost any subject.

Dictionary: Provides the meaning of words in a language or field of knowledge.

Encyclopedia: A single or multi-volume reference work that provides general background articles on either a wide range of topics or a more specialized discipline.

Handbook: A compact reference book giving the essential information in a given field of study.

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance by Kennedy, Dennis
Call Number: PN2035.O94 2003 (Reference Collection--2 volumes)
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama by Cody, Gabrielle H. and Evert Sprinchorn
Call Number: PN1861 .C65 2007 (Reference Collection--2 volumes)
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre by Rubin, Don
Call Number: PN1861 .W67 (Reference Collection)

Indexes

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews (1943-1994)
Call Number: PN2000.N76 (Reference Collection)

Dictionaries

The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre by Wilmeth, Don B.
Call Number: PN2221.C37 2007 (Reference Collection)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by Roberts, John
Call Number: DE5 .O94 2005 (Reference Collection)
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by Banham, Martin
Call Number: PN2035.C27 1995 (Reference Collection)
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays by Patterson, Michael
Call Number: PN1625.P38 2005 (Reference Collection)

Handbooks

American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama, 1914-1930 by Bordman, Gerald
Call Number: PN2266.3.B67 1995 (Reference Collection)
The Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays, From Ancient Greece to Modern Times by Shipley, Joseph T.
Call Number: PN6112.5.S45 1984 (Reference Collection)
The Classical Tradition by Grafton, Anthony
Call Number: DE60 .C55 2010 (Reference Collection)

Bibliographies

World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Lists annotated entries for important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Licensed for on campus use only.