Skip to main content
Armacost Library
Ask Us

ENGL 213: Drama: Find Articles and Reviews

This research guide supports ENGL 213: Drama. Use this guide as a starting point for your Expertise Reports.

What is a database?

A database from the library is usually a collection of information describing publications such as journal articles, books, theses or newspapers.

You can search by keyword or author or title, and when you get the results, which show articles or books on your topic , there will usually be a link [Search for Full-Text] to our library contents so that you can check if the item is on the shelves, or available electronically. In many cases the full text of the article will be directly available. If not, the full-text of an article or a book can be attained through interlibrary loan.  Ask us about this.

Most of our databases include materials not freely available on the internet.

Remember: it is not possible to identify individual articles by searching our library catalog - you need databases for this.

Useful Links for Journals and Articles

Listed below are some ways you can find out if particular full-text articles and journal titles are available at Armacost Library.

Databases: Articles, Books, Reviews

Use these databases to find academic/scholarly resources and production information on theatre performances. 

Journals @ Armacost Library

American Theatre PN2000 A437.  This is a monthly, nonacademic journal that covers current productions and theatre artists in the not-for-profit theatre.  Audience: theatre students and working professionals.  Published by Theatre Communications Group.

Asian Theatre Journal  Dedicated to the performing arts of Asia, focusing upon both traditional and modern theatrical forms.

TDR   The journal for performance studies.  Covers performance in everyday life, ritual, media, dance, theatre, performance art, popular entertainments, and sports—emphasizing the experimental, the anthropological, the intercultural, and the inter-disciplinary. 
 
Theatre Journal (continues Educational Theatre Journal) PN3171 E38.  Features historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that  analyze dramatic texts and production.

Theatre Survey  PN2000 T716  A theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are both broadly conceived.  Published by the American Society for Theatre Research.
 
Theater  PN2000 Y34 Focuses primarily on experimental theater—American and international—and theater that touches on political and cultural debates. Continues Yale/Theatre .   

Theatre Topics  focuses on performance studies, dramaturgy and theatre pedagogy. Practical, performance-oriented, covering latest developments on stage and in the classroom